écal
From 15.11.2013 to 15.12.2013
Gallery Azzedine Alaïa, Paris

From 15 November to 15 December 2013, ECAL/University of Art and Design Lausanne presents the “ECAL Photography” exhibition in the gallery of famous fashion designer Azzedine Alaïa in Paris. The exhibition offers a selection of works produced by 58 young talents during their Photography Bachelor curriculum at ECAL. All these images were chosen by exhibition curator Nathalie Herschdorfer, who has developed several internationally acclaimed projects around emerging photography, as well as by Milo Keller, head of the Photography programme at ECAL, and Alexis Georgacopoulos, ECAL director. The scenography of the exhibition is created especially by Swiss designer Adrien Rovero.

The “ECAL Photography” book (296 pages, 385 images) supports this event. This book is produced by art publishers Hatje Cantz, with a worldwide reputation for their catalogue of publications on photography. (HD Images)

An art school is an image factory. New generations of artists are constantly emerging, joining the marathon of exhibitions and publications from the very first years of their creative lives. In this context, the art school has become a particularly attractive place for ambitious young artists.

This book features a selection of works by photography students from one of the world’s top art universities: ECAL, in Lausanne, Switzerland, an institution commited to training artists, graphic designers, industrial designers, typographers, filmmakers, interaction designers, and photographers. Here, students create freely, question the traditional genres, explore new territories, and experiment with and beyond their media. The works revealed by the “ECAL Photography” exhibition and collected in the eponymous book are bound to trace the beginnings of innovative practices in photography.

Exhibition « ECAL Photography »
Exhibition from 15 November to 15 December 2013
Every day from 10am to 7pm 

Galerie Azzedine Alaïa / 18, rue de la Verrerie / 75004 Paris Métro Hôtel de Ville
The exhibition will then go on tour in Milan, from 11 January to 15 February 2014, in Galleria Carla Sozzani

Publication « ECAL Photography »
- 296 pages / 385 images / French and English, 26,5 . 35 cm / 50 Euros / ISBN 978-3-7757-3725-8
. Edited by ECAL (under the supervision of Alexis Georgacopoulos, Director of ECAL, Nathalie Herschdorfer, independent curator and art historian, and Milo Keller, Head of Bachelor Photography), 2013
- Art Direction by Julien Gallico & Olga Prader
- With interviews from visiting artists and photographers at ECAL realized by Nathalie Herschdorfer including Adam Broomberg, Brice Dellsperger, Jason Evans, Thomas Mailaender, Paolo Roversi, Maurice Scheltens & Liesbeth Abbenes, Taiyo Onorato & Nico Krebs et Joachim Schmid.
- Published by Hatje Cantz: www.hatjecantz.de 

Information
ECAL/University of Art and Design Lausanne
5, avenue du Temple, Renens
P.O. Box 555, CH-1001 Lausanne, Switzerland
+41 (0)21 316 99 33
ecal@ecal.ch / www.ecal.ch

Galerie Azzedine Alaïa
Contact : Sylvie Grumbach, 2e BUREAU
+33 (0)1 42 33 93 18
alaia@2e-bureau.com / www.2e-bureau.com

ECAL, Photography, Paris, Alaïa, Azzedine, livre, exposition, Maya Rochat 5054

Photo Cover by ECAL/Maya Rochat

Typeface Kalli Italic by ECAL/Yin Fei Gwee

Photo ECAL/Emile Barret


Photo ECAL/Emile Barret


Photo ECAL/Emile Barret


"Watchit", ECAL/Tiphanie Mall, 2012

écal
Du 15.11.2013 au 15.12.2013
Galerie Azzedine Alaïa, Paris

Du 15 novembre au 15 décembre 2013, l’ECAL/Ecole cantonale d’art de Lausanne présente l’exposition « ECAL Photography » dans la galerie du célèbre couturier Azzedine Alaïa à Paris. Cette exposition propose une sélection de travaux réalisés par 58 jeunes talents lors de leur cursus en Bachelor Photographie à l’ECAL. Toutes ces images ont été choisies par la commissaire d’exposition Nathalie Herschdorfer, qui a produit plusieurs projets d’envergure internationale autour de la photographie émergente, ainsi que par Milo Keller, responsable du programme à l’ECAL, et Alexis Georgacopoulos, directeur de l'ECAL. La scénographie de l’exposition a été spécialement créée par le designer suisse Adrien Rovero.

Le livre « ECAL Photography » (296 pages, 385 images) accompagne cet événement. Il est publié chez Hatje Cantz, éditeur réputé mondialement pour son catalogue de publications sur la photographie. (images HD)


Une école d’art est une fabrique de l’image. De nouvelles générations d’artistes émergent continuellement. De nos jours, l’entrée dans le marathon des expositions et des publications se fait dès les premières années. L’école d’art est ainsi devenue un lieu particulièrement attirant pour les jeunes créateurs ambitieux.

Ce livre et cette exposition réunissent une sélection de travaux de photographie de l’une des meilleures écoles d’art au monde : l’ECAL à Lausanne, en Suisse, qui forme des plasticiens, des graphistes, des designers industriels, des typographes, des cinéastes, des designers d’interaction et des photographes. Ici, les étudiants créent avec liberté, interrogent les genres traditionnels, explorent de nouveaux territoires et expérimentent leur médium. Les prémices de nouvelles pratiques photographiques sont certainement à déceler dans ces travaux révélés par l’exposition « ECAL Photography » et rassemblés dans le livre éponyme.

Exposition « ECAL Photography »
Exposition du 15 novembre au 15 décembre 2013
tous les jours de 10h à 19h 

Galerie Azzedine Alaïa / 18, rue de la Verrerie / 75004 Paris Métro Hôtel de Ville

La tournée de l’exposition se poursuit ensuite à Milan du 11 janvier au 15 février 2014 à la Galleria Carla Sozzani

Publication « ECAL Photography »
- 296 pages / 385 images / français et anglais, 26,5 . 35 cm / 50 Euros / ISBN 978-3-7757-3725-8
- Edité par l’ECAL (sous la direction d’Alexis Georgacopoulos, directeur de l’ECAL, Nathalie Herschdorfer, curatrice indépendante et historienne de l’art, et Milo Keller, responsable du Bachelor Photographie), 2013
- Direction artistique par Julien Gallico & Olga Prader
- Avec des interviews d’artistes et photographes étant intervenus à l’ECAL réalisées par Nathalie Herschdorfer: Adam Broomberg, Brice Dellsperger, Jason Evans, Thomas Mailaender, Paolo Roversi, Maurice Scheltens & Liesbeth Abbenes, Taiyo Onorato & Nico Krebs et Joachim Schmid
- Publié chez Hatje Cantz : www.hatjecantz.de

Information
ECAL/Ecole cantonale d’art de Lausanne
5, avenue du Temple, Renens
Case postale 555, CH-1001 Lausanne, Suisse
+41 (0)21 316 99 33
ecal@ecal.ch / www.ecal.ch

Galerie Azzedine Alaïa
Contact : Sylvie Grumbach, 2e BUREAU
+33 (0)1 42 33 93 18
alaia@2e-bureau.com / www.2e-bureau.com

ECAL, Photography, Paris, Alaïa, Azzedine, livre, exposition, Maya Rochat 5054

Photo Cover by ECAL/Maya Rochat

Typeface Kalli Italic by ECAL/Yin Fei Gwee

Photo ECAL/Emile Barret

Photo ECAL/Emile Barret


Photo ECAL/Emile Barret


"Watchit", ECAL/Tiphanie Mall, 2012