Master Film Studies

Developing a personal cinematographic vision, understanding the filmmaking process and apprehending the stakes of production so as to pave the way for graduates to smoothly join professional circles – such are the main objectives of this programme. This Master course, which is unique in Europe, is aimed at the holders of a Bachelor’s degree, or with equivalent experience, wishing to further their knowledge in one of the following fields: direction scriptwriting, editing, sound or production.

Through courses and workshops provided by renowned lecturers in each field, the students develop a personal project throughout the curriculum. For their master project, they are involved in the production (direction scriptwriting, editing, sound or production) of a short, medium or feature length film (fiction, documentary, TV series, art-house, transmedia…). Several films gain international visibility through renowned festivals or/and TV broadcasting.

This Master programme relies on a partnership between ECAL and HEAD/Geneva University of Art and Design and on collaborations with Lausanne University (UNIL), Zurich University (UZH), Zurich University of the Arts (ZHDK), the Swiss National Film Archive in Lausanne, Swiss National Broadcasting RTS, and la Manufacture (school of performing arts) in Lausanne, University of Music Lausanne and Swiss Literature Institute in Bienne.

Registration deadline, interview www.ecal.ch/en/admission

4 semesters

Yearly fees (materials included)
CHF 2225.–

120 ECTS

French and English

Qualification issued
Master of Arts HES-SO in Cinema, major in Direction, Scriptwriting, Editing, Sound or Production

Heads of Department
Lionel Baier (ECAL)

Nicolas Wadimoff (HEAD – Genève)

Jasmin Basic

Alice Riva (HEAD)

Production and distribution
Jean-Guillaume Sonnier (ECAL)

Professors and Visiting Lecturers
Elsa Amiel
Claire Atherton
Séverine Barde
Nathalie Baye
Jean-Pierre Beauviala
Pierre Bismuth
Stéphane Bouquet
Louise Bourgouin
Serge Bozon
Guillaume Brac
Jean-Stéphane Bron
Robert Cantarella
Djinn Carrenard
Lolita Chammah
Michael Cimino
Donigan Cumming
Abdel Raouf Dafri
Thierry de Peretti
Dieter Fahrer
Philippe Faucon
Laetitia Fèvre
Emmanuel Finkiel
Jennifer Fox
Pauline Gaillard
Amos Gitaï
Delphine Gleize
Alain Gomis
Mahamat Saleh Haroun
Werner Herzog
Mike Hoolboom
Nicolas Humbert
Jean-Christophe Hym
Antoine Jaccoud
Simon Jaquemet
Tom Kalin
Anurag Kashyap
Alanté Kavaïté
Marthe Keller
Stéphane Kuthy
Rachel Lang
Joachim Lafosse
Laurent Larivière
Sébastien Lifshitz
Eric Loret
Noémie Lvovsky
Vincent Macaigne
Ursula Meier
Peter Mettler
Luc Moullet
Bettina Oberli
Ruben Östlund
François Ozon
Vasco Pimentel
Pedro Pinho
Aude Py
Katell Quillévéré
Philippe Ramos
Charlotte Rampling
Gianfranco Rosi
Sonia Rossier
Antoine Russbach
Emmanuel Salinger
Stefano Savona
Ulrich Seidl
Florence Seyvos
Eyal Sivan
Raphaël Sohier
Karine Sudan
Bela Tarr
Marianne Tardieu
Anne-Dominique Toussaint
Cécile Vargaftig
Teresa Villaverde

Jean-Jacques Annaud
Darren Aronofsky
Suzanne Bier
Joel Coen
Claire Denis
Clemens Klopfenstein
Thierry Frémaux
Guillaume Gallienne
Jean-Luc Godard
Michel Hazanavicius
Werner Herzog
Agnès Jaoui
Barbet Schroeder
Léa Seydoux
Claire Simon
Jean-François Stévenin
Jeremy Thomas
Gus Van Sant
Thomas Vinterberg
Frederick Wiseman
Andrei Zviaguintsev

Final Jury Master Cinema 2020
The diploma Jury of the Master Cinema 2018-20: Ael Dallier Vega (editor, Paris); Jacques Kieffer (sound engineer, Zürich); Stéphane Batut (filmmaker and scriptwriter, Paris); Aline Schmid (producer, Genève)
Dialogue with Pauline
A project by Ensemble Vide
"I Dreamed of El Zahir"
Sound work recorded in Dakar, Senegal
Master Cinema at the Berlinale 2020
Shooting of the web-series "Bâtards"
Workshop casting and acting with Guillaume Brac