écal

Research project, ECAL 2021

in PROJECTS / R&D RESEARCH PROJECTS (R&D)


Automated Photography
For the past twenty years, many photographers have been integrating images produced autonomously by machines into their work. We are now witnessing a paradigm shift in the process of creating photography. From photographic capture in the strict sense we move towards practices involving appropriation, automated and computational processes: a phenomenon which reflects a conception of space that is increasingly less built on the equivalence between the human eye and the machine.

The Automated Photography research project (2019–2021) is conducted by Milo Keller in the framework of the MA in Photography at ECAL/University of Art and Design Lausanne. It is a continuation of the research project Augmented Photography, equally conducted at ECAL (2016–2017), which aimed to question the mutability of the digital image, transformed both in its physical materiality and in its virtual expression. Automated Photography focuses on a specific aspect of these changes, which are omnipresent in contemporary visual culture: the automation of capture systems (smartphones, lidar, UAVs, satellites, space probes), the automation of image processing (machine vision analysis, facial recognition), and the increasing automation of image production and post-production (CGI, photogrammetry, artificial intelligence). 

Automated Photography has a dual objective. On the one hand, it plans to develop a critical theory of the automated image, in order to confront the students of the MA in Photography with its multiple implications (social, political, technical and aesthetic). On the other hand, it proposes to respond to the profound changes in the photographic profession, which must constantly adapt to technological developments. By combining an analytical and a theoretical perspective with considerations resulting from the practical experiences with these technical devices, the project aims to take advantage of the crossroads of these different fields. The synthesis is based on a practical process by applying these technologies, on an aesthetic outlook by analysing the visual qualities of these devices and their creative potential, and on a theoretical approach by assessing the practical results in their cultural, social and political context.

Website
https://automated-photography.ch/

Main applicant
Milo Keller (project leader)

Research team
Claus Gunti (researcher)
Joël Vacheron (researcher)
Florian Amoser (research assistant)
Robin Bervini (research assistant)
Thomas Le Provost (graphic designer)

Visiting lecturers
Marco de Mutiis, Simone C. Niquille, François Zajega, Kurt Caviezel, Lauren Moffatt

Students
Sara Bastai, Emidio Battipaglia, Robin Bervini, Maeva Bosko, Jasmine Deporta, Anja Karolina Furrer, Alessia Gunawan, Christian Harker, Jung-Ting Hu, Johanna Hullár, Sally Jo, Philipp Klak, Doruk Kumkumoglu, Igor Lucena, Natalia Maximova, Valentin Russo, Jelena Schuhmacher, Yang Su, Gedvile Tamosiunaite, Joanna Wierzbicka, Olivia Wünsche, Manquin Zhang

Period
September 2019 – February 2021

Supported by
ECAL/University of Art and Design Lausanne
Strategic fund of the University of Applied Sciences Western Switzerland (HES-SO RCDAV)


Gohan Keller, See Me In Depth, 2018
©ECAL/Gohan Keller


Philip Klak, See What Is Left, 2020

©ECAL/Philip Klak

Emidio Battipaglia, All Watched Over By Machine Of Loving Grace Ver 1.1B, 2020

©ECAL/Emidio Battipaglia

Sara Bastai, As We Melt, 2020

©ECAL/Sara Bastai

écal

Projet de recherche, ECAL 2021

en PROJETS / RA&D PROJETS DE RECHERCHE (RA&D)


Automated Photography
Au cours des vingt dernières années, de nombreux photographes ont intégré dans leurs travaux des images automatisées produites par des machines. Nous assistons aujourd'hui à un changement de paradigme dans le processus de création photographique. De la capture photographique au sens strict, nous passons à des pratiques qui s’approprient des techniques automatisées et informatisées :  ce phénomène relève d’une conception de l’espace qui est de moins en moins construite sur la base de l’équivalence entre l’oeil humain et la machine. 

Le projet de recherche Automated Photography (2019-2021) est dirigé par Milo Keller dans le cadre du MA en photographie de l’ECAL/Ecole cantonale d’art de Lausanne. Il s'inscrit dans le prolongement du projet de recherche Augmented Photography, qui s’est déroulé également à l’ECAL (2016-2017). Il s’agissait alors d’interroger la mutabilité de l’image digitale et ses transformations, aussi bien sur le plan de la matérialité physique que sur le plan de l’expression virtuelle. Automated Photography se concentre sur un aspect spécifique de ces transformations qui sont omniprésentes dans la culture visuelle contemporaine : l’automatisation des systèmes de prise de vue  (smartphones, lidar, drones, satellites, sondes spatiales), l’automatisation du traitement d’images (vision machinique, reconnaissance faciale), et l’automatisation croissante dans la production et la post-production d’image (images de synthèse, photogrammétrie, intelligence artificielle).

Le projet Automated Photography poursuit deux objectifs. D’une part, il s’agit de développer une théorie critique de l’image automatisée, afin de sensibiliser les étudiants du MA en photographie aux multiples implications en jeu (implications sociales, politiques, techniques et esthétiques). D’autre part, le projet est une proposition de réponse face aux mutations profondes que rencontre la profession de photographe, qui doit constamment s’adapter aux développements technologiques. En associant perspectives analytiques et théoriques, tout en s’appuyant sur les expériences pratiques réalisées avec ces techniques, le projet souhaite mettre à profit l’entrecroisement de ces différentes dimensions. La synthèse visée repose sur un processus pratique qui consiste à appliquer ces technologies suivant d’une part une dimension esthétique fondée sur l’analyse des qualités visuelles générées par ces instruments et de leur potentiel créatif, et d’autre part sur une dimension théorique qui procédera à une évaluation des résultats pratiques inscrits dans leurs contextes culturel, social et politique.

Site internet
https://automated-photography.ch/

Requérant principal
Milo Keller (chef de projet)

Équipe de recherche
Claus Gunti (chercheur)
Joël Vacheron (chercheur)
Florian Amoser (assistante de recherche)
Robin Bervini (assistante de recherche)
Thomas Le Provost (graphiste)

Intervenant-e-s
Marco de Mutiis, Simone C. Niquille, François Zajega, Kurt Caviezel, Lauren Moffatt

Étudiant-e-s 
Sara Bastai, Emidio Battipaglia, Robin Bervini, Maeva Bosko, Jasmine Deporta, Anja Karolina Furrer, Alessia Gunawan, Christian Harker, Jung-Ting Hu, Johanna Hullár, Sally Jo, Philipp Klak, Doruk Kumkumoglu, Igor Lucena, Natalia Maximova, Valentin Russo, Jelena Schuhmacher, Yang Su, Gedvile Tamosiunaite, Joanna Wierzbicka, Olivia Wünsche, Manqin Zhang

Durée
Septembre 2019 – Février 2021

Soutenu par
ECAL/Ecole cantonale d’art de Lausanne
Réserve stratégique de la HES-SO (RCDAV)


Gohan Keller, See Me In Depth, 2018

©ECAL/Gohan Keller

Philip Klak, See What Is Left, 2020

©ECAL/Philip Klak

Emidio Battipaglia, All Watched Over By Machine Of Loving Grace Ver 1.1B, 2020

©ECAL/Emidio Battipaglia

Sara Bastai, As We Melt, 2020

©ECAL/Sara Bastai